Postdoctoral Studies

The Postdoctoral Research Environment

The University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Law is the largest in Canada, boasting a distinguished and diverse assembly of faculty members at the forefront of legal research and education. Through their scholarship, many of our professors have contributed to the transformation of Canada’s legal systems as well as the ways in which law is practiced, taught and conceived.  Our law school boasts a thriving research environment, hosting numerous research chairs, and a broad and deep assortment of centres of research excellence. Located in the heart of downtown Ottawa, within walking distance of Parliament Hill and the Supreme Court of Canada, the University of Ottawa provides the best opportunity in the world to study Canada’s legal systems in English or in French.

Postdoctoral students at the uOttawa Faculty of Law are offered a wide array of opportunities to broaden their specialized research or explore avenues complementary to their training.  Our dynamic and inclusive research environment invites postdocs to take part in invigorating activities such as the new Autumn School on the Methodology of Research in Law, and the Faculty of Law Writing Group.  Postdoctoral fellows also find repeated opportunities to be invited to speak in regular conference series, or to participate in work-in-progress workshops. They can also access the services of the Research Office and benefit from our communications support to disseminate their research and accomplishments. We are proud of the level of excellence displayed by our researchers, and are eager to add new voices to our research enterprise.

Register as a Postdoc

A candidate who wishes to apply for a postdoctoral fellowship should contact a professor or researcher who shares her or his research interests and who will act as a fellowship supervisor. Visit the University of Ottawa’s Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies website to learn more about becoming a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Ottawa.

Find a Supervisor in Law

Postdoctoral positions are offered by professors or researchers at the University of Ottawa. To find a postdoctoral supervisor at the Civil Law Section, consult the lists of research themes in the Research Expertise section, or on faculty members’ profile pages.

Contact us

For questions regarding postdoctoral fellowships at the University of Ottawa, please contact the Office of the Vice-Provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies at postdoc@uottawa.ca.

For questions specifically related to postdocs at the Faculty of Law, please contact Natalie.Carter@uOttawa.ca

Back to top

Études postdoctorales

Le milieu de la recherche postdoctorale

La Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa est la plus importante au Canada, elle se démarque par un corps professoral aussi distingué que diversifié à l’avant-scène de la recherche et de la formation juridiques. Grâce à leurs recherches savantes, bon nombre de nos professeurs ont contribué à la transformation des systèmes juridiques du Canada ainsi qu’aux manières dont le droit est exercé, enseigné et conçu. Notre Faculté de droit peut se targuer d’abriter un milieu de la recherche dynamique, caractérisé notamment par des chaires de recherche réputées et un éventail de Centres d'excellence de la recherche. Située en plein centre-ville d’Ottawa, à quelques pas de la Colline parlementaire et de la Cour suprême du Canada, l’Université d’Ottawa offre la meilleure possibilité au monde d’étudier les systèmes juridiques canadiens en français ou en anglais.

Les étudiants au niveau postdoctoral à la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa peuvent se prévaloir de vastes possibilités d’élargir leurs champs de recherche spécialisée ou d’explorer des avenues complémentaires à leur formation. Notre milieu de la recherche dynamique et inclusif invite les stagiaires postdoctoraux à prendre part à des activités enrichissantes telles la nouvelle école d’automne sur la Méthodologie de la recherche en droit, et le Groupe de rédaction de la Faculté de droit. Qui plus est, les stagiaires postdoctoraux sont régulièrement invités à s’exprimer dans le cadre de nos séries de conférences, ou de participer à des ateliers sur des travaux de recherche en cours. Ils et elles peuvent se prévaloir des services du bureau de la Recherche et de notre équipe de communications dans le but de diffuser leurs recherches et leurs réalisations. Nous sommes fiers du niveau d’excellence dont nos chercheurs font preuve et sommes impatients d’ajouter de nouvelles voix à notre programme de recherche.

Inscription à titre de stagiaire postdoctoral

Une ou un candidat(e) qui souhaite s’inscrire comme stagiaire postdoctoral doit au préalable communiquer avec un(e) professeur(e) ou chercheur(e) qui partage ses intérêts de recherche et agira comme directeur de recherche. Visitez le site Web des Études supérieures et postdoctorales de l’Université d’Ottawa afin de vous familiariser avec les différentes étapes pour devenir stagiaire postdoctoral à l'Université d'Ottawa

Trouver un directeur, une directrice de recherche

Les postes de stages postdoctoraux sont offerts par des professeurs ou chercheurs à l’Université d’Ottawa. Pour trouver un directeur, une directrice de stage postdoctoral à la Section de droit civil, veuillez consulter les listes des thèmes de recherche dans la section de l'Expertise en recherche, ou les pages de profils des membres du corps professoral.

Contactez-nous

Pour toute question relative aux stages postdoctoraux à l’Université d’Ottawa, prière de communiquer avec le Cabinet du vice-provost aux études supérieures et postdoctorales à postdoc@uottawa.ca.

Pour des questions plus spécifiques reliées aux stages postdoctoraux  à la Faculté de droit, veuillez communiquer avec Natalie.Carter@uOttawa.ca.

Haut de page